This Is A Terrible Idea But…

June 30, 2009

I have been thinking on this for a while and I think that I am going to just go ahead and do it. I am going to spend the month of July compiling a list of my favorite 500 songs… ever. Then I am going to record covers of the top one hundred and post them, one a day for 100 days, on the interwebs. Can you believe it. Oh my god. I think that this will be fun, and I also think that it will inevitably get me motivated to get working on some new My Brother, The Welder stuff. In the interest of full disclosure: this is not an entirely original idea, Bob Nanna (Braid, Hey Mercedes, City on Film… among others) did this a few years ago. Since he did his I have always wondered what 500 songs would make my list and how difficult it would be to record all of the top 100 (not surprisingly, several of Mr Nanna’s songs are likely to be on this list). I have held off doing this because it is a very overwhelming proposition to say the least. But now, oh now, I am ready (maybe).

The list will post here on August 1st along with the first cover (Which will be the 100th song on the list, then counting back to 1).

7 Responses to “This Is A Terrible Idea But…”

  1. tom Says:

    I am eagerly awaiting this to start. I can’t wait. Love me some cover songs.


    • I’m excited about it… even though I kind of had a panic attack as soon as I posted this blog. Something about putting it up here made me feel even more like I have to do it. It is going to be fun though…

  2. Adrian Says:

    I recently decided my 10 albums and 100 songs that I’d take to a desert island. It was painful to decide. I can’t imagine then having to record each of the 100. That’d take me years.


    • I have just been sitting here coming up with a “sure bet” list of things that are definitely going to be on there… and I’m already feeling overwhelmed. I’m glad I gave myself a month to do this.

      I kind of think that when the list is done the recording will be the fun part though.

  3. Eileen Says:

    Dude, this is an awesome idea- got to be pretty time-consuming, though.
    Anyway, good luck!
    -Eileen


  4. […] honored when, a few months ago, Jon subscribed to me. Jon was also very supportive of the ill-fated covers project that I undertook last year. So, with that in mind, I decided to let Jon request a song a month for […]

Leave a Reply

